Books · Crafting · Crochet · Knitting

First Post – Pioneer Days

Hey guys! Thank-you so much for joining me for my first post!

My small collection of well loved Little House books: Little House in the Highlands, Little House by Boston Bay, Little House in the Big Woods, Little House on the Prairie, and Little Town on the Prairie.
My small collection of well-loved Little House books: Little House in the Highlands, Little House by Boston Bay, Little House in the Big Woods, Little House on the Prairie, and Little Town on the Prairie.

I have always been a huge fan of Laura Ingalls Wilder. I am also a fan of pioneers in general. My Grandmother owns all of the books about Laura Ingalls Wilder and her daughter Rose Wilder Lane. I remember being just six years old and reading “Little House in the Big Woods” to my stuffed animals. I’m pretty sure they enjoyed it. 😉

In Grade 4, we held a day called Pioneer Days. I was all over that! We had to make a display that had something to do with pioneer life and set it up at our desks. It was kind of like a science fair, but with pioneers instead. Someone had bought me a pioneer book that told the story of a family going about their daily lives. It talked about school, home, cooking, and gathering sap from trees, among other things. This book also came with another book called “Pioneer Crafts”. Using that book, I made homemade butter in a jar (and let me tell you, my little 8 year old arms hurt from having to shake the darn thing to “churn” the butter) and brought crackers with me to school for the display. I got a pretty good mark on it too!

A Pioneer Story, and Pioneer Crafts - two books I loved as a kid.
A Pioneer Story, and Pioneer Crafts – two books I loved as a kid.

Unfortunately I don’t have the project anymore, but I do still have the Pioneer Crafts book! There are so many wonderful crafts in there: weaving on a homemade loom, rug braiding, sewing a doll, and crazy quilts. There are quite a few non-fiber crafts in there too such as soap carving, spatter painting, and candle moulding, to name a few. In the following weeks I will put up a few tutorials for some of the crafts if anyone is interested. Heck, if you want to make your own homemade butter we can do that too!

Stay tuned for some awesome crafty goodness and thank-you again for joining me for this post. 🙂

~Calindy

Leave a Reply

