Crochet

Secret Project for New Zealand

image

These past couple weeks have been spent on and off designing a secret gift for a friend of mine in New Zealand. She’s a very sweet girl and she *loves* horses! I’m really hoping I’ll be able to finish her gift in time for Christmas.

I started out by searching for bead patterns on Pinterest. I went through quite a few before I found something I really liked. That’s when I went to work.

The first thing I did was grab a sheet of graph paper and some pencil crayons. I coloured in the squares according to what I saw (just in case I want to use the pattern again). I like having a paper copy because it’s easier to see in a larger format. Plus, who doesn’t love colouring?? Then, I gathered the colours and started planning out how I was going to construct the project. I thought of doing a c2c (corner to corner) project, but that would have been too small. I decided to make small squares and sew them together to create that pixel look and to achieve the size I needed. Then I needed to decide what pattern I was going to use for the squares. c2c, simple granny square, simple double crochet, or solid granny square. I opted for the solid granny square because it just looks so elegant and beautiful.

I have quite a few squares to make and sew together, and hopefully I will be able to share them with you and share the progress on the project as I work on it more.

Since this post is so short, I’ll give you a tutorial on how to make a solid granny square in my next blog post. 🙂

Thanks so much for joining me for this short blog post! I’ll see you soon for that tutorial!

~ Calindy

Leave a Reply

