Crafting · Knitting

Knitting for the First Time (in ages)

You know how, sometimes, you get these feelings in your soul that say, “today I am ready to do [insert action here]”? You just know, with every fiber of your being, that you are ready to tackle the challenge at hand. For me, that came a few days ago. I felt a calling inside of me, as though my very soul was telling me to do this and do it NOW. The challenge? Learn how to knit and take it seriously.

My Grandma taught me how to knit when I was 12 years old. I must say, I was terrible at it. I still gave it a try though, and I remember knitting in the van on the way to Edmonton one Christmas (it’s a three hour trip from my city). I was so excited to show my other Grandma what I had made! I remember her looking at it and telling me that I had dropped a stitch here and picked up a stitch there. I felt kind of bad about myself because it wasn’t any good, so I just kind of stopped knitting. I’m pretty sure it disappointed my first Grandma but she never said anything about it. She’s wonderful that way.

A few years ago, I picked up a set of looms to knit with and I made a few hats. My Grandma was happy that I was knitting but she mentioned that it wasn’t really “real” knitting. She’s changed her mind on that since though; she started using looms when her hands became too bad to hold the needles with. She was pretty excited about it too! “Look how many hats I’ve made! It goes so quickly! Although I still bind off my hats using double pointed needles, see? I’m probably the only one that does that with looms!” She’s so wonderful, I love her so much!

Last year I decided to knit a keyhole scarf for a group project on Ravelry. It turned out pretty okay, but after that I put down my knitting needles and never looked back. I felt that it took too much time to complete a project and crochet was (is) much faster anyway.

After I felt the calling to pick up my needles again, I started looking at knitted items differently. I started to really love how knitted items looked and I really wanted to create them on my own! So, at last, I dusted off my needles, cast on my stitches, and started knitting again. Needless to say, I am loving it (despite being so slow at it)!

I’ve started on a project by Katia called a Cat Scarf. I can’t wait to show you the finished project!! Here’s what I have so far:

image

I had to go up a needles size because I didn’t own any 5mm knitting needles. So I’m using size 5.5mm needles instead.

As a new knitter born again, I could really use some tips and tricks when it comes to this craft! If you have any for me, feel free to leave me a comment! I would love to hear what you have to say!

Thanks for reading and have a great day!

~Calindy~

3 thoughts on “Knitting for the First Time (in ages)

  1. its best to knit on big needles etc like 10mm then your work will go faster & quicker, if your working on 5mm needles your work is going to take abit of time!

    Like

      1. Yes i know i did that when i started knitting. But it best to use bamboo knitting needles instead of the plastic ones.

        Like

Leave a Reply

