Crafting

Craft Fair Honesty

**This post is about to get seriously real, raw, and brutally honest. Sorry in advance if anyone is offended by my words**

Back in November 2015, I did my first craft fair out in Strathmore, AB. I started out pretty anxious about it (I didn’t have a lot of stuff to sell and my check engine light had come on while I was driving there and it freaked me out – note: the light comes on when the car reaches about 100km/hr but nothing is wrong with the engine itself. I think it’s an electrical problem). My “friend” at the time had talked me into going and she did help me set up, which was nice of her and I appreciated it at the time. My husband sat with me, got me food, and helped with the money management. I actually managed to sell a couple of things! It was an interesting first experience and I enjoyed it (after my anxiety subsided).

After that first craft fair, I started doing research into doing more fairs. How to set up, colour combinations, display tips and tricks, etc. I started running them by my “friend”, thinking that we could bounce ideas off of each other and help each other out. It happened for a little bit, but then she started becoming secretive about the fairs and ideas. After many weeks of asking her what was going on, she finally told me that she didn’t want me at the same craft fairs as her. She told me I could do fairs in other cities and towns that were opposite from where she was doing them. To be honest, I didn’t think it was fair that my “friend” didn’t want me around and was dictating what I should and shouldn’t do (plus, the fairs on the opposite side from her were way out of my way – apparently that’s okay because I can drive on my own and she refuses to so she’s limited to where she can go). Out of respect for her, I didn’t sign up for any craft fairs, just in case she wanted those other ones too. I simply sat on the sidelines and cheered her on from afar.

Now, she doesn’t talk to me. I’ve become invisible to her and that’s okay. It just means she doesn’t have respect for me and, as such, I don’t have to respect her wishes to stay away from craft fairs. I’ve been working very hard on some craft fair prep and I can’t wait to get back into it better than ever.

As for the “friend” situation, don’t even worry about it. I’ve found someone that’s claimed me as their own best friend! I almost feel…free(?)…because I’m no longer walking on eggshells with my “friend”. My best friend and I are so supportive of each other and the best part is that we can make plans and hang out whenever we want (this could never happen with my “friend”). We’re both super geeky and we have such great times together!

I wish my “friend” success in her endeavors. I’m excited to finally start living my life without second guessing myself and catering to her needs all the time.

I know I’m probably going to get a lot of flack for writing this. I’m sorry, but this is my honest opinion and you really don’t have to like it. It’s time for me to move on from poisonous people in my life and start surrounding myself with positive, loving people.

Calindy

 

Leave a Reply

